Dabbling   Leave a comment

As I think back on 2013, there are several pursuits that captured my attention:

1. Blogging. My goal was to reach 100 posts on Enjoying the Biosphere, using it to challenge my thinking and share my joy for all things bio-related. This year’s themes tended toward food, personal health, ethical consumption, faith, and my pet turtle.

2. Running. I trained for a marathon relay with my family, connected with a friend to run weekly through the fall, and often find myself running (late) to work.

3. Music. I sang and played guitar and djembe with the worship team at my church two or three times per month.

4. Reading. I finished Song of Haiti, Cutting for Stone, The Good and Beautiful God, and a couple romance novels. I reread parts of the Old and New Testaments, Set Apart Feminity, Dangerous Wonder, and A Comedian’s Guide To Theology. I started The Contented Soul, On Guard, The Fight, Has Christianity Failed You?, Genesis: A Living Conversation, Conscious Capitalism, Earth User’s Guide to Permaculture, and Rodale’s Illustrated Encyclopedia of Herbs. I continued through some others on spiritual and emotional growth. For better or worse, Facebook keeps me in touch with politics and social concerns.

5. TV. I got up-to-date with period drama Downton Abbey and crime comedy-drama Bones. I fell in love with their characters.

6. Nutrition. I discovered many new products and ways to eat healthfully, sharing food with coworkers and customers at Whole Foods Market. I tried 3 flavors of Kombucha, baked spaghetti and acorn squash, took advantage of sales (apples, yogurt, chia seeds, steak, cheese), and introduced my husband to kale.

7. Family. I grieved with my husband’s family over the loss of his great-grandma and great-aunt. We traveled to DC with my parents and to Shenandoa with my family. We formed a D&D group with my sister-in-law and enjoyed several other meals with our parents.

8. Small group ministry. My husband and I co-led a weekly Bible study and prayer group, walking with friends through depression, trauma, graduate programs and job changes.

9. Housekeeping. I conquered clutter, dirty dishes and dust, though not as frequently as to avoid occasional mold in the sink.

10. Sleeping in. I enjoyed many days with no alarm clock and somehow managed to keep my job.

11. Babysitting. This was an answer to prayer. Within a week of realizing our need for more income, two families offered me regular babysitting hours. I had the joy of getting to know 4 kids between age 3 and 12.

12. Next steps. We started house hunting. We contemplated moving for a job opportunity for my husband. We bought a car when our Ford Focus transmission died and had to rethink our savings plan.

Sometimes I think I need to be more focused in how I spend my time, but other times I wonder at the force that is guiding us all, so that I don’t need to worry about somehow missing my purpose.

The lyrics from a song we sang often in church this year remind me of the focus I’ve had since I was a teenager: “Give me one pure and holy passion, give me one magnificent obsession, give me one glorious ambition for my life, to know and follow hard after You.” And it delights me to know God through my family, marriage, church, friends, coworkers, science, and all the activities listed above. Because He gave a creative fire to us and longs for us to use it in love.

Posted December 31, 2013 by K10forHim in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

